FreightWaves Ratings cuts through the noise of freight technology product reviews to make you a smarter buyer

EROAD Ehubo

EROAD’s Ehubo is one of the most all around high-quality devices on the market right now. The hardware is sturdy and reliable, the software is easy to use, and the information it captures is highly accurate. While it is affordably priced, there are cheaper systems out there. And while it has lots of nice extra features, there are systems out there with more bells and whistles. But for a simple, dependable, user-friendly ELD, EROAD is very tough to beat.

One of the big ways EROAD sets themselves apart is their commitment to being 100% ELD mandate compliant. Any vendor can self-certify and be added to the FMCSA’s list, but that doesn’t necessarily mean the system is truly up to code. To provide their customers with more assurance, EROAD submitted their device for independent verification by PIT Group – a transportation technology testing firm. PIT Group put the EROAD system through a rigorously extensive testing process with real trucks and real drivers, to ensure that the product is fully compliant with every line of the ELD mandate. To our knowledge, EROAD is the only device to have gone through this kind of independent testing. Choosing to be verified by a third party shows a lot of confidence in the product, and it gives customers peace of mind to knowing their ELD investment will pass FMCSA muster.

The Ehubo itself is a dedicated all-in-one device with a single cable that plugs into the vehicle’s diagnostic port. At only 4.5 inches, the screen is a fair bit smaller than most, but the user interface is so well designed that you hardly notice. Buttons are large and text is very readable. The small keyboard may make typing a little difficult for larger fingers, but there is very minimal typing required. In addition to the normal ECM connection, the Ehubo can also be used in older vehicles that don’t have an ECM. Using a 3-wire install and alternate data capture methods, the device is one of the few on the market that can still record information at the level of accuracy required by the ELD mandate. This allows fleets with older trucks to put all their vehicles on one system if desired.

Beyond being highly compliant and accurate, EROAD is genuinely easy to use. The driver’s user interface is well designed and intuitive. Daily tasks are very simple, and more complicated things like editing logs can be done easily on the device. There are also a lot of nice little conveniences for the driver that are not found in many systems. In addition to the officially required log transmission methods, drivers can also email a PDF of their logs to anyone they like. There is a simple screen showing recap hours for each day, so drivers know the exact amount of time that will be added to their 60/70 hour clock over the coming days. The system works very smoothly for team drivers. In these and many other ways the device is smartly designed to be simple and hassle free for the driver.

The back office system, called Depot, is also very easy use. There are good tools in place for making suggested log edits and assigning unidentified driving time. EROAD was originally a distance tracker for fuel tax purposes, so the system sports the best IFTA reporting tools in the business. For many carriers, the savings from accurately claiming exempt fuel tax miles alone may be enough to pay for the cost of the system. Dispatchers can send chat messages back and forth with drivers. Flexible geofences can be set up to monitor activity at important locations such as customer shipping yards. The system can track and schedule regular vehicle maintenance. And there is a very nice dashboard tool which shows all kinds of safety events like speeding, harsh braking, etc. EROAD’s recently released “Inspect” system allows drivers to complete DVIRs and helps drivers and maintenance staff smoothly track any reported defects through the entire repair process. With all of these extra tools, the exact features you get will depend somewhat on the pricing package you choose, but there’s a lot to like no matter what your specific needs may be.

In mid 2020 EROAD came out with their “Smart Short Haul” feature, which automatically figures out when drivers exceed the 100 air-mile or 12 hour limits of the short haul exemption. This is a really great tool for local and regional drivers, because it takes the guess work out of determining when you need to keep logs. The EROAD ELD figures it out for you and starts recording the required logs automatically, so you’re always covered.

While the EROAD system does have a lot of great extra features, there are some that are still in progress. GPS navigation and engine diagnostics are in the works, but are not yet available. EROAD integrates with some big name TMS providers like McCleod, and more integrations are underway. Add-on tools like dash cams are also coming in the near future. The system is already easy to use, but enhancements are being added to streamline daily activities for drivers and manager. So while there is some room for the product to grow, it seems that it will continue to do so.

Depending on the features you need, EROAD offers several different pricing plans. Prices start at $35/mo for a simple ELD-only plan and range up to $60/mo for the TotalFleet plan with all the available features. The mid-range TotalTax plan contains all but the most advanced fleet management tools and is $45/mo. There is a one-time activation fee of $35 and the ECM cable costs $65. There is no up front cost for the device itself if the customer chooses one of the lease plans mentioned above. However, customers who prefer to buy the hardware outright may do so, and thus pay a reduced monthly charge. All pricing plans include hardware warranty and tech support.

Users rate EROAD’s customer support very highly. Every fleet we’ve spoken with has given glowing reviews of their experience with the support team. Customers can get help via phone, email, or even by using the chat feature built right into the EROAD back office software. Right now support is only available 8am-5pm PST, but may expand in the future. EROAD also provides a wealth of good training videos and how-to guides to help new users get familiar with the system. There are detailed walkthroughs on everything from making log edits to fuel tax reporting, and some of the user tutorials are even available in Spanish.

In summary, EROAD is a top notch ELD and it will only continue to become more appealing as additional features are added. Those looking for a durable all-in-one system with bullet-proof compliance, highly accurate tracking, and excellent fuel tax capabilities really can’t do much better. Add to that the affordable monthly pricing, sturdy hardware, and helpful support and it’s a top-shelf option that anyone in the market should seriously consider.

Cost

UP FRONT COST

$0

MONTHLY COST

$35

3-YEAR TOTAL COST

$1260

Pros & Cons

PROS:

  • Durable and easy to use
  • PIT Group verified as fully mandate compliant
  • Highly accurate and reliable
  • Best fuel tax tracker on the market
  • “Smart Short Haul” feature automatically handles short-haul exemption

CONS:

  • Smaller screen

User Reviews

4.4
5
(78%)
4
(91%)
3
(0%)
2
(0%)
1
(9%)
This is a great product
CARL — 03/03/21

This is a great product. We are a power only company with 227 owner operators who started with another ELD (JJ Keller) and had nothing but problems out of it. It did not set well with my not so tech savvy drivers and we lost some of them due to the ELD issues. When we realized that we as a company could not keep this up we reached out to EROAD. We talked to Robert and he set us up with a trial and the drivers using it loved it. We made the decision to change all of the trucks over to EROAD. Since then our drivers are extremely happy with the reliability and accuracy of the units. As we all know drivers talk to each other and a lot of the owner operators that we lost due to the old ELD have come back to us and are very happy to be using this device. The tech support and sales reps at EROAD are top notch. Had we went with EROAD in the first place we would have saved a lot of money by not buying an inferior product which they would not buy back from us. So now ...

This is a great product. We are a power only company with 227 owner operators who started with another ELD (JJ Keller) and had nothing but problems out of it. It did not set well with my not so tech savvy drivers and we lost some of them due to the ELD issues. When we realized that we as a company could not keep this up we reached out to EROAD. We talked to Robert and he set us up with a trial and the drivers using it loved it. We made the decision to change all of the trucks over to EROAD. Since then our drivers are extremely happy with the reliability and accuracy of the units. As we all know drivers talk to each other and a lot of the owner operators that we lost due to the old ELD have come back to us and are very happy to be using this device. The tech support and sales reps at EROAD are top notch. Had we went with EROAD in the first place we would have saved a lot of money by not buying an inferior product which they would not buy back from us. So now i have over $100,00 worth of useless product that I cant get rid of. Save yourself the money and the hassle of buying any other inferior product and just pick the best in the industry EROAD.

The EROAD ELD was easy to train our employees
DON — 04/29/20

We run a private fleet of light and heavy duty vehicles and we are often in very harsh environments. We needed something more reliable than the app system we had. The EROAD ELD was easy to train our employees to use and they seem to like it more than the old system that was down so often. The customer service has been easy to work with.

We LOVE this ELD!
LISA BAKER, CB ENTERPRISES — 04/12/20

We LOVE this ELD! After two failed attempts using tablet systems, we moved to this rugged all-in-one solution. We were able to test it for free and try out the device and all the back office things we need.
Our drivers were so happy to no longer waste a ton of time messing with tablets. We had so many tablet problems! Broken, lost, won’t charge, manual updates, extra contracts… the list is sooooooo long. It’s so easy to use, our driver were experts after ONE day.
If you want a reliable, rugged, easy-to-use device with awesome back office software and excellent customer support, EROAD is where you need to go.

Our drivers found it very easy to use
KEVIN — 02/07/20

This is a great very solid in-cab device. Our drivers found it very easy to use. Support is great, you actually speak to someone who knows what they are talking about!

Easy to read and very nice
DH — 11/19/19

Haven’t hooked the unit up yet
But the manuals are very good quality.
Easy to read and very nice.
Not fold out pages with tiny print like some owners manuals of products
With all the positive reviews I have no doubt it will work as described when I install it.

product is solid, reliable, accurate and affordable
JJ — 07/17/19

EROAD’s ELD is third-party certified. The global company has been around quite some time. Their product is solid, reliable, accurate and affordable. It’s so easy for drivers to use.

Beware there’s has a 3 year minimum service contract that can’t be canceled
MICHAEL J SCHMIDt — 06/15/19

Great product, however even though you pay for the product in full at the time of purchase and its pricey,. Don’t get sick or be forced to retire early for any reason. When you fill out the application for the unit you are unknowingly agreeing their service agreement terms of use located on their web site which I just assumed was similar to everyone else’s, but beware there’s has a 3 year minimum service contract that can’t be canceled for any reason. So here I sit unable to drive any longer on limited income and forced to pay for GPS service payments every month to these creeps.

Third party certified is a plus!
MICHAEL — 04/08/19

1. Third party certified is a plus! 2. One of four devices selected by FMCSA to test & train their inspectors. 3. Satellite GPS, no cell towers to mess with. 4. It’s an in cab mounted system, so no worry the driver dropped, damaged, forgot it or lost the device. 5. The carrier is responsible for service, no need to ask the driver to pay from his cell plan or that he didn’t pay his cell plan this month. 6. To date, there are 3 service plans to choose from. If your fleet is 10 or more you will pay for “shipment only” of the devices and just pay a slight higher monthly service fee. A fleet of under 10 will buy the hardware, pay shipment and will have a lower monthly fee. 7. Contracts are 3 years for fleets of 10 or more. No yearly contract if your fleet is under 10 because you bought the device. 8. GPS works well in the U. S. & Mexico, to my knowledge. 9. Training videos in English, Spanish & Russian. 10. The device can be removed from its mounts, so you can pass it over to the roadside inspector. There is no ...

1. Third party certified is a plus! 2. One of four devices selected by FMCSA to test & train their inspectors. 3. Satellite GPS, no cell towers to mess with. 4. It’s an in cab mounted system, so no worry the driver dropped, damaged, forgot it or lost the device. 5. The carrier is responsible for service, no need to ask the driver to pay from his cell plan or that he didn’t pay his cell plan this month. 6. To date, there are 3 service plans to choose from. If your fleet is 10 or more you will pay for “shipment only” of the devices and just pay a slight higher monthly service fee. A fleet of under 10 will buy the hardware, pay shipment and will have a lower monthly fee. 7. Contracts are 3 years for fleets of 10 or more. No yearly contract if your fleet is under 10 because you bought the device. 8. GPS works well in the U.S. & Mexico, to my knowledge. 9. Training videos in English, Spanish & Russian. 10. The device can be removed from its mounts, so you can pass it over to the roadside inspector. There is no need for him to enter the cab. 11. The device only allows the inspector to view your log for today, plus previous 7. There is no way for the inspector to access log errors you may have. He’ll have to calculate/figure that on his own. 12. The vehicle’s location can be seen within the back office Depot portal or the view can be opened using Google Maps, nice! 13. A text message can be sent to one or all from the Depot portal & drivers can view or respond. 14. There’s more but it’s better to check it out for yourself.

Negatives: sure there have been a small handful but nothing the techs couldn’t work out. Usually it was an operator error or an improperly connected device. These are electronic devices, so minor glitches can be expected. On the other hand improvements continue to be checked off.

Unos puntos importantes para la gente que hablan Español.

1. ¡Un tercero certificado es un plus! 2. Uno de los cuatro dispositivos seleccionados por FMCSA para probar y capacitar a sus inspectores. 3. Satélite GPS, no hay torres celulares para meterse. 4. Es un sistema montado en la cabina, por lo que no se preocupe, el conductor se cayó, dañó, olvidó o perdió el dispositivo. 5. El transportista es responsable del servicio, no es necesario pedirle al conductor que pague de su plan celular o que él no pagó su plan celular este mes. 6. Hasta la fecha, hay 3 planes de servicio para elegir. Si su flota es de 10 o más, pagará por el “envío solo” de los dispositivos y solo pagará una pequeña tarifa mensual de servicio. Una flota de menos de 10 años comprará el hardware, pagará el envío y tendrá una tarifa mensual más baja. 7. Los contratos son de 3 años para flotas de 10 o más. No hay contrato anual si su flota es menor de 10 años porque compró el dispositivo. 8. El GPS funciona bien en los Estados Unidos y México, que yo sepa. 9. Videos de capacitación en inglés, español y ruso. 10. El dispositivo se puede quitar de sus montajes, para que pueda pasárselo al inspector de carretera. No hay necesidad de que él entre en el taxi. 11. El dispositivo solo le permite al inspector ver su registro de hoy, más el 7. anterior. No hay forma de que el inspector acceda a los errores de registro que pueda tener. Tendrá que calcular / calcular eso por su cuenta. 12. La ubicación del vehículo se puede ver dentro del portal Depot de back office o la vista se puede abrir usando Google Maps, ¡bien! 13. Se puede enviar un mensaje de texto a uno o todos desde el portal de Depot y los controladores pueden ver o responder. 14. Hay más, pero es mejor comprobarlo por ti mismo.

Aspectos negativos: seguro que ha habido un pequeño puñado pero nada que los técnicos no pudieron resolver. Por lo general, fue un error del operador o un dispositivo conectado incorrectamente. Estos son dispositivos electrónicos, por lo que se pueden esperar pequeños fallos. Por otro lado las mejoras continúan marcadas.

Excellent ELD
JP — 02/21/19

Excellent ELD w/ great Tax Reporting and robust Drvier Safety Reporting. Amazing Customer Support team, too.

eroad has been awesome
WILLIAM MONROE — 10/26/18

I HAVE No Trouble in Canada. To me eroad has been awesome.

NO CANADIAN MAPPING!!!
BERNARD RAUSCH — 10/06/18

NO CANADIAN MAPPING!!!
Sales rep Erica didn’t make that clear to me , only that Canadion HOS are not available for some time. I called her and she insiated of having told me this…anger sets in.
She said Canadian mapping won’t be available until Canada has its ELD mandate in the open. What the hell has that to do with GPS mapping…more anger sets in.
Whenever crossing into Canada, with each duty change you will have to manually input your location…and it’s a fairly small display for XXL fingers…now I need Pepto Bismol.
Don’t buy this one if you’re going into Canada. On a personal note I have to question this business model, someone either didn’t think straight or has short arms and deep pockets, if you catch my drift.
On the plus side this gadget works flawless and would deserve a 5* rating, if it’d only work in Canada.

Looking for a new ELD
ANONYMOUS — 06/19/18

It seems like drivers will have to change ELDs every few months as manufacturers get out of business due to defective equipment. My F-ELD20 just disappeared & no refunds. Got to remember these ELD are self-certified by the manufacturers, not by FMCSA. And of course, they are not regulated by government. Now I’m looking for a new ELD.

4 Stars
JOKN — 04/26/18

It’s hard on all elds because there trying to make money so far competition is so high that all the equipment are not proper handled.

Customer service that is truly excellent
MIKE GOOD — 04/26/18

These people are a class act, with customer service that is truly excellent. You will have problems with any company you choose as this is new for everyone in the industry, so choose a company that will be there for you. I have never waited more than 5 minutes to receive help from the people at E-Road. We used Fleetmatics “Verizon” for one month and it was the worst experience I have ever had period. Do not choose any system that operates on a cell phone app from the app store, The E-Road system has its own internal operating system that does not freeze up like the app systems do. This company has earned a 5-star rating by providing unmatched quality and customer service.

I cannot say enough good things about EROAD!
JACK — 04/04/18

We purchased EROAD after having a lot of trouble with the ELD we initially purchased. I cannot say enough good things about EROAD! Their customer service is top notch, which is really important considering the ELD technology is new for most of us. The back office side to the device is super easy to use and they have a built in help/messaging feature that lets you connect to a customer service rep instantly. They have answered every question in less than ten minutes! The tax calculation for IFTA and IRP has saved us a ton of time, no more manual addition for fuel miles and purchases. Our drivers are all older and we purchased EROAD based on its driver ratings and we were not disappointed – it is very user friendly. They had no trouble learning how to use EROAD and the online videos and training tools are priceless. Installation was a breeze. When you spend a lot of money on a device, you want it to work, especially when you are busy and don’t have a lot of time for device errors and malfunctions. The only drawback is that they are still updating the device – for example, there ...

We purchased EROAD after having a lot of trouble with the ELD we initially purchased. I cannot say enough good things about EROAD! Their customer service is top notch, which is really important considering the ELD technology is new for most of us. The back office side to the device is super easy to use and they have a built in help/messaging feature that lets you connect to a customer service rep instantly. They have answered every question in less than ten minutes! The tax calculation for IFTA and IRP has saved us a ton of time, no more manual addition for fuel miles and purchases. Our drivers are all older and we purchased EROAD based on its driver ratings and we were not disappointed – it is very user friendly. They had no trouble learning how to use EROAD and the online videos and training tools are priceless. Installation was a breeze. When you spend a lot of money on a device, you want it to work, especially when you are busy and don’t have a lot of time for device errors and malfunctions. The only drawback is that they are still updating the device – for example, there are exemption functions that won’t be released until next month. But so far, they have delivered in every sense of the way! I would highly recommend this to every driver – the up-front cost is steep, but ELDs are the new way for the trucking world and EROAD’s awesome device and stellar customer service are worth every penny!

User Friendly, great staff, and so easy for drivers to use
JOHN MADISON — 03/28/18

This is the best device and we tried so many before deciding on this one. John Chima is a huge help – his number is 315-391-8365. User Friendly, great staff, and so easy for drivers to use.

Very impressed with the customer service
KARL — 03/06/18

We are into a one week trial with the EROAD ELD units. We had been using Teletrac Navman and the difference is night and day! So far not one issue with EROAD and very impressed with the customer service. You can actually talk to someone….what a concept! Not like Teletracs where you would be escalated to a level 2 and someone would call you back…which was never! Super easy for the drivers to use and the Depot is easy to navigate.

So far so good.
WI FLEET — 02/13/18

So far so good. Installed on a small fleet of inter AND intra-state units. Back office is absolutely fantastic, and driver interface is so simple. My oldest driver (70+) has not had one error or confusion since starting a week ago. We haven’t had them long but I am happy with usability and customer support so far. Switching from provider that let us down time and time again since the mandate.

Great tech support team!
E&S FREIGHT SYSTEMS, LLC — 01/25/18

Great software, super simple for drivers who are just learning how to use the ELD’s. Great tech support team! A bit pricey compared to other cheap services but you get what you pay for, Highly recommended.

Drivers have found it simple to use
CAMPBELL FARMS — 01/18/18

We started testing ERoads out in October. We tested out several before we started testing out ERoads. And just were not happy with any of them. They didn’t do everything that we wanted them to. Finally we got ERoads and it seemed to encompass everything we wanted it to do. We wanted simple for our drivers to learn and use, we wanted it to be able to handle IFTA miles and taxes, we wanted it to monitor services and driver info, etc. It really did everything we needed it to. Yes, there were/are bugs in the system, however their tech support is amazing. When we first got, I bugged them all the time with questions and they were very happy to answer back and get back to me ASAP. I have been so happy with their tech team. They listen to my concerns and work through any issues I have had. We are truly happy with this product! (We have in 25 trucks and our drivers have found it simple to use, and are happy with it as well)

This is the best system
CYREL — 01/18/18

This is the best system. The support people on the team are the greatest. They have always been there when I have had questions or issues. If your still looking for an ELD I would suggest EROAD.

Amazing product
MARK — 12/09/17

Amazing product. Best in class and very price competitive.

This is a great product
NORM — 11/13/17

This is a great product. Accurate, reliable, intuitive and easy to install to list a few of its attributes.

Technical Specs